Strasbourg Agreement Members

Accession negotiations also began in 1993 with Austria, Finland and Sweden. These negotiations ended a year later and, on 1 January 1995, the European Union welcomed three new members and made them a Europe of 15. During the two years following the entry into force of this Convention, States Parties to the European Convention which are not yet members of the Special Federation may enjoy, if they so wish, the same rights within the Committee of Experts as if they were members of the Special Association. The first enlargement of the EEC took place in 1973. The United Kingdom, Ireland and Denmark joined the UNECE, increasing the number of Member States from 6 to 9. Norway refused to join a referendum. Any amendment to the Articles referred to in paragraph 1 shall enter into force one month after the entry into force of the written notifications of acceptance which, in accordance with their respective constitutional procedures, have been submitted by the Director-General of three-quarters of the members of the Special Association at the time of adoption of the amendment. On 23 June 2016, a referendum was held in Britain to decide whether to leave the European Union or remain in the European Union. Leave won with 51.9%. The UK referred to Article 50 of the Treaty on European Union (TEU), which began the withdrawal of the EU member state. British politicians launched the process of leaving the EU on 29 March 2017. From that date, the EU and the UK will have two years to negotiate and secure a withdrawal agreement.

To determine, subject to paragraph 1 (c) of paragraph 1 below, the countries which are not members of the Special Association and the intergovernmental and international non-governmental organizations admitted to its meetings, as well as the meetings of the committees or working groups established by the Special Association; In the headquarters agreement concluded with the country in whose territory the organization has its registered office, it is provided that that country grants advances if the working capital is not sufficient. The amount of such advances and the conditions under which they are granted shall be the subject of separate agreements between that country and the Organization. Half of the members of the Assembly shall have a quorum. The review of the ICC is carried out by the IPC Committee of Experts established under the agreement. All States Parties to the Convention are members of the Committee of Experts. Any amendment to the said Articles, adopted, shall be binding on all the member countries of the Special Association on the date of entry into force of the amendment, provided that any modification which increases the financial obligations of the countries of the Special Federation shall be binding only on the countries which have notified their acceptance. If a quorum is not present, the Assembly may take decisions, but with the exception of decisions relating to its own procedure, all such decisions shall take effect only if the following conditions are met. The International Bureau shall communicate such decisions to the unsused members of the Assembly and shall request them to express their vote or abstention in writing within three months of the date of communication. . . .

About the Author